Crocheted Kokeshi Doll

I felt like crocheting up something quickly. So, I decided to look for inspiration in a magazine given to me by a student I taught last year (thank you Leah).

image

Simply Crochet: Amigurumi Collection Summer 2015

I came across a pattern for small Japanese dolls called Kokeshi dolls (though it’s my understanding that these folks are traditionally made of would and ornately decorated).

image

The pattern was very easy to follow and I finished my doll in a couple of hours (whilst also watching TV).

The next time I use this pattern, I might stitch the hair on rather than crocheting a wig cap. I will definitely make sure I stuff the body more firmly and perhaps the head less so- my little doll is a little top heavy and is prone to toppling. 🙂

image

1 Comment

Filed under creations, recommendations

One response to “Crocheted Kokeshi Doll

Leave a comment