How I started hooking… or how I learned to crochet

In October of 2012 I decided I’d see if I could teach myself how to crochet. This was completely on a whim, I simply bought myself a 4mm crochet hook and a cheap ball of wool.

After a little googling, I settled down with a few YouTube videos. I learned, over the next few hours, how to create a chain, single crochet and double crochet (US terms).

Over the next few weeks I learned more complicated stitches; began making crocheted flowers;  started a scarf, and discovered amigurumi.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “How I started hooking… or how I learned to crochet

  1. I taught my husband how to crochet many years ago. He had watched me and was newly retired on disability. He figured if I could do it so could he. He ended up making a twin size blanket for his mother. then he left the crocheting to me. She treasures the blanket to this day. So keep it up, your work will be loved.

  2. Shana Rae

    I taught myself to crochet back in 2008, and failed miserably because I hadn’t realised there are two ‘languages’ in crochet…American and British terminology, I was so frustrated when designs wouldn’t work out, until I realised that a dc is really an sc…anyway I may be a Brit, but I prefer the American ‘language’, patterns make sense now!

Leave a comment