YouTube rocks

As I mentioned previously, I got started with crochet through watching YouTube videos. The ones that I found Most helpful were those posted by the crochet crowd (http://www.thecrochetcrowd.com/en/). The tutorials were really well constructed and with the ability to re-watch the same section of video multiple times was invaluable.

Here’s a link directly to the playlist that got me startedΒ http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL69F5A7FE3F95232F. If you are at all interested in starting to crochet I can’t recommend another starting off point more highly.

5 Comments

Filed under Learning

5 responses to “YouTube rocks

  1. Well done for teaching yourself, hooray for you tube!

  2. Well done for teaching yourself, Mark πŸ™‚

    I, too, taught myself, last July, by watching YouTube, Mikey, from The Crochet Crowd, and another awesome teacher, Clare, of BobWilson123 fame πŸ™‚

    In a year I’ve collected around 4,000 patterns, and a room-full of yarn, and am now ever-so-slightly obsessed with crochet in all it’s varieties πŸ™‚

    It’s a great outlet for creativity, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

    • 4000 patterns wow!

      I’m trying to restrain myself a little when it comes to buying yarn, but its SOOOOOOO hard! I say this looking around and there are four balls on the computer desk, I think there are 3 by my bed and I know I’ve another two sat on the dining room table!

      Crochet is a fantastic outlet. For me it has a calming effect (when things are going right) and can help me refocus on something constructive πŸ™‚

      • Lol
        I don’t know a crochet addict yet who hasn’t got a stash of yarn somewhere! πŸ™‚

        I’m with you on the calming effect of crochet – whenever something in life upsets me, and prayer can’t fix it, I take out my yarn and hook, and just make a granny square, or something easy I don’t have to concentrate too much on – it calms me faster than anything, then leaves me at peace to be able to fix whatever upset me in the first place πŸ™‚

  3. We learned from youtube videos too and now it’s the job of one of us. We agree that it’s calming. Sometimes crocheting for no good reason at all is the best thing for stress – just back and forwards, back and forwards. It’s also very good for those on the autistic spectrum, for these very reasons.

Leave a Reply

