Finished!

I have finished the sheep I’ve been crocheting; it looks marvellous.

P1000525_DxO

I’ve previously been referring to sheepy as a he but I’ve recently seen a female sheep name that I really like. I’m open to suggestions , any ideas?

The fleece really finishes him/her off. It was a great deal of work and I did have to take a break from it for a while but it works so well.

P1000527_DxO

My sheep was very much based upon Lydia Tresselt’s Dirk the Dragon pattern from ravelry. Its a lovely pattern that provides a great body shape. The idea for the fleece was one I’ve used before on a previous sheep crocheted using a pattern from Toft’s Edward’s Menagierie.

I crocheted the scarf using the simple Tunisian crochet stitch. I like the addition of the scarf it just adds that little extra something. The yarn used is Sirdar Snuggly Snowdrop Chunky. Its a really attractive yarn but can be tricky to work with as the stitches can be a difficult to see if you are using a smaller crochet hook.

P1000528_DxO

Ironically, the sheep contains no wool all yarns being synthetic or cotton blends. This was an intentional choice as I move away from using yarns and fibres from animal sources.

8 Comments

Filed under creations, recommendations

8 responses to “Finished!

  1. How about “Merle?” πŸ˜‰ And I kinda dig the irony of the sheep being made of something other than wool πŸ˜‰ Great job!

  2. That’s adorable. I really want one for my daugher. How about “Bijou?” It means little gem. And good job keeping away from yarns from animal sources. πŸ™‚ I love it!

  3. It’s really cool! I can’t crochet, but when I saw the photo I had to comment! I love it!!!

  4. It’s really gorgeous. I bought a similar one for my daughter years ago and it cost a small fortune! You could be on to something!

  5. She looks like one of the sheep we used to keep, called Bramble πŸ™‚
    She really is gorgeous – and to someone allergic to natural wools, I love the idea that she’s made from alternative materials πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

