Bride & Groom: The Next (crocheted) Generation

I finished this project a couple of weeks ago but needed to wait for the big day to pass before I shared my handiwork.

20141002_074830_DxO

At the beginning of September, I was asked (by a colleague) to crochet another bride and groom. I was a little apprehensive as I was crocheting the amigurumi from my last post and was uncertain if I’d have the time. However, I agreed and began work on the figures as soon as I’d finished the minions I had been working on.

With the brides and grooms I’ve made previously I used no patterns and this project was no different. I had a couple of photos and some very much appreciated details to work with such as colour schemes, hair styles and flower choices.

20141002_074656_DxO

I’m especially pleased with with the hair on the figures and built it up using lots of repeated stitches. When I compare the hair in this project to the hair on the previous brides and grooms I’ve made I can see so much progress.

20141002_074750_DxO

Also, the bouquet of sunflowers turned out well. I used a 1 mm crochet hook and embroidery thread. Whilst it was quite fiddly I think the effort was worth it.

I think the body shapes turned out great and was constantly comparing the two dolls as I crocheted. This definitely helped to get the proportions right. I really like the shaping on the bride and think the addition of the antique lace edging to the dress sets it off; aswell as creating more definition between the bride’s skin and the ivory wedding dress.

20141002_074709_DxO

Leave a comment

Filed under creations

Leave a Reply

