Gary the Donkey

The name of this pattern is  actually Angharad the Donkey and is available from TOFT as part of Edward’s menagerie. However, the donkey I’ve crocheted looks more like a Gary to me.

image

The patterns in Edward’s menagerie are all very similar and result in several gorgeous amigurumi animals. The patterns are quite straight forward to crochet; that said I’m pleased I’m relatively experienced as a few elements of the pattern I had to extrapolate using past experience such as Gary’s facial features.

image

I used honeycomb stitch and my tunisian hook to make the scarf. I think it just finishes him off nicely giving him a bit of colour.

I like donkeys they are one of my favourite animals.  Gary reminds me of a visiting a Donkey Sanctuary on the Isle of Wight a few years ago. Entry was free and we spent hours there watching the residents strolling in the sunshine and rolling on their backs (I didn’t know they did that).  They were so happy and so well looked after. 🙂

image

17 Comments

Filed under creations, musings

17 responses to “Gary the Donkey

  1. He is rather handsome. 🙂 And cute.

  2. Ok….so….you made me fall in love with this nice creature of yours….well done! 🙂

  3. gentlestitches

    Gary is a delight! The scarf is a brilliant touch. Thanks for posting him, he made my day!

  4. Sanderella's Crochet

    Really cute!! I enjoyed the post and shared!! Sandy

  5. He’s fab! There’s a really nice Donkey Sanctuary in Dorset too that’s well worth a visit 🙂

  6. Gary has got just the right donkey features 🙂 Love him. Well done.

  7. Pingback: Amigurumi Free Crochet Patterns – Part 7

  8. Pingback: Amigurumi Free Crochet Patterns – Part 8

Leave a comment