An inspired hedgehog

I woke up yesterday and the first thing I thought of was a way to do the spikes on an amigurumi hedgehog. I have no idea why this popped into my head; it wasn’t something I’d been focusing on at all.

There are some lovely amigurumi hedgehogs out there. Many use a yarn that has lots of threads coming off the main strand, this is a great way of making the hedgehog look spikey. However,  I don’t have any of this yarn.

But, as I said, I’ve thought of a way to put spikes on a crocheted hedgehog.  A different way that I’ve never seen before. Although I’m sure I wont be the only person to have thought of this.

image

After crocheting and stuffing a hedgehog shaped head and body (all one piece), I crocheted on the surface of the body. I used single crochets, picots and chains to create a spikey look.

image

I used a brightly coloured yarn (just to be different) and didn’t use a pattern.  I think the nose may have been a little too long, I’ll shorten it slightly for future hedgehogs.

image

I’m pleased with the finished result, I’ll be making another tomorrow, tweaking things slightly. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under creations

2 responses to “An inspired hedgehog

Leave a Reply

