Small granny blanket

Over the last few weeks I’ve been really busy.

One of the biggest things that has been happening is having our new kitchen fitted.  It’s taking a long time but is taking shape nicely. The whole room has been gutted; for a few days there was no ceiling and not a great deal of plaster on the walls. I’m looking forward to sharing the transformation in photographs.

Also, I took two classes of 8 and 9 year olds on a residential trip. The children were fantastic and it was amazing to see them challenging themselves climbing, abseiling, and (for some) being away from home for the first time.

Today, I’ve finished my small granny blanket. It was going to be bigger but on Friday I decided it was the perfect size to sit on the back of our sofa (I think there’s a proper name for these blankets but I have no idea what it is).

I wanted to finish the blanket off with a nice edge. I considered a scalloped edge but wanted something a little airier. Unable to find inspiration on the web I adapted a shawl edging from a magazine.

I love the way it’s turned out.

image

Busy being blocked

9 Comments

Filed under creations, musings

9 responses to “Small granny blanket

  1. Lovely colours should look great over your sofa

  2. The color, the edging all very nice!

  3. It is a triumph and I am so glad you are blocking it! You will be too.
    That trip sounds like a real confidence builder for the young ones!

  4. Love it! Especially the edging. Hope it makes you smile whenever you see it.

  5. Sharon Tyler

    I love the color combination, and the edging is great!

Leave a Reply

