A sad post

Yesterday was a sad day.

Our beloved cat Elphaba became, suddenly, very sick and we had to rush her to our vets. After some testing, we discovered she was suffering from antifreeze poisoning.

Initially, we were livid but hopeful our vets treatment plan would work. We warned neighbours who also had cats and awaited news.

After about 7 hours from us racing to the vets we received the phone call no cat dad wants to receive. The vets said they’d done all the could and that it would be kinder to let our princess go.

We drove over to say goodbye. How Jonathan held himself together during the journey is beyond me. I know exactly how he must have been feeling.

When we arrived, we waited in the dimly lit waiting room and I could feel myself crumbling. We went through into the consultation room with a very supportive and apologetic vet and said our goodbyes.

I could actually feel the moment my heart broke.

There is no doubt in my mind that the greatest kindness we could bestow on Elphaba at that moment was to let her go.

We are here the day after remembering our beautiful little girl. All the pain we are feeling pales in comparison to the joy she brought into our lives.

We well miss you my little princess and  love you always x

image

RIP Elphaba

29 Comments

Filed under musings

29 responses to “A sad post

  1. I am so so sorry, I wish her to be at peace, what a sad story 😦

  2. I’m so sorry. Losing a pet is so painful.

  3. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  4. So sorry for your loss. Rejoice in the good memories she brought you, the good life I am sure you gave her and in the fact she is no longer suffering.
    \o/

  5. creative pixie

    So sad to hear, sorry for your loss.

  6. Very sad indeed! Our condolences

  7. I’m so sorry to hear that,Mark…. My condolences… ❤

  8. sorry about your cat, ive had to do smae with my old cat, he had tumour x

  9. So sorry to hear your news. I don’t know if you’ve come across this poem but it has helped me when I’ve lost pets. http://www.pet-loss-matters.com/rainbow_bridge_poem.html x

  10. I am so sad for your loss but I am glad you posted it. You did the right thing.
    Her crocheted hat is lovely. Blessings to you both during this difficult time.

  11. I’m so very sorry for your loss. Just try to remember that you did what was best for her, to keep her pain free. It truly is the greatest act of love you could have shown her, and she knew that.

  12. Oh no, that’s awful. Poor little mite. She looked like such a gorgeous little cat.

  13. cormeg7

    Hey! I follow your blog and enjoy reading so I nominated you for a Liebster Award and you can read about it here: http://cormeg7.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/liebster-award-nomination/

  14. Oh gosh, this is so sad. I’m sorry for your loss x

Leave a Reply

