A job well done

It’s been a while since my last blog post but I’m back. I’m not exactly sure why there has been a lapse in bloggification but hopefully things will return to normal in 3, 2, 1….

crochet shawl

I’ve finished my most recent creation The Staccato shawl featured in issue 50 of “Inside Crochet”. Β This was lovely to make, consisting of a pattern with three repeated rows to allow the shawl to grow and a simple edging. The Rowan cotton yarn was really enjoyable to work with; I shall be working with cotton and other such lighter yarns again!

shawl closeup

The Shawl needed a good blocking before I was happy with the way it looked but I think it’s turned out great. Β I’m loving the triangular pattern and use of chaining.

crochet shawl blog

Again lacking in willing models I did the job myself πŸ™‚

Using this lovely vibrant cotton yarn has had an unsettling effect on me. I’m now looking at pricier yarns (such as Kidsilk Haze) with great longing and enthusiasm. This may be making my husband nervous πŸ™‚

15 Comments

Filed under creations, musings

15 responses to “A job well done

  1. The shawl is really nice and fits you very well!Well done! πŸ™‚

  2. What an amazing job you’ve done with this! And it looks rather good on you….

  3. Gill W

    Great work Mark – and it looks very good on you too! What a super pattern.

  4. The shawl is gorgeous. I think you should totally go for some kid silk haze. Personally I like it stranded with some lace yarn. Noro Sekku for preference but Rowan lace is good for single colour projects. And remember, your husband will only know what yarn costs if you tell him πŸ˜‰

  5. It is a wearable work of art and looks very good on you. Think of the yarn as an investment. That is how I justify the expense LOL!
    Also I think blocking is an important step and one worthy of all the work. πŸ™‚

  6. Granny Squares of Love

    Beautiful!

  7. Beautiful shawl & work Mark! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

