Recycling and crochet

This weekend just gone, I purchased a good pair of fabric scissors. I’ve been meaning to do this for a while and have had a bag of fabric sat waiting to be cut up for months.
image

What I wanted to do was make my own yarn out of old shirts and the like. I think I was inspired by tshirt yarn but also I like the idea of squeezing a little more like out of these old fabrics.

To begin with, I’ve cut up an old quilt cover and matching pillowcases. This took quite some time and resulted in an achey hand and a great big ball of Orange and yellow rag yarn (there may be a better name for it?).
image

I’ve started to crochet this into a basket that I will post pictures of later this week. It’s going quite well. The fabric is fraying a little as I crochet but this was something I expected πŸ™‚

Right best get back to it πŸ™‚

1 Comment

Filed under creations, musings

One response to “Recycling and crochet

  1. I am very impressed with this project and I look forward to seeing more.

Leave a Reply

