Feeling chunky!

Recently, I’ve been working with Sirdar’s Snowflake chunky yarn and I thought I would write a short review.

This is a fleecy polyester yarn that caught my eye as I was perusing the range at hobbycraft. I was in the market for some yarn to make baby things so this really seemed to fit the bill. Not knowing the gender of the babies I’m crocheting for, I opted for neutral cream and light brown.

20140117_155928 20140117_160004The first project I’ve used it for consists of two parts: a striped granny square comforter and an attached teddy bears head (There will be a more comprehensive post about this during the next few days).

For the granny square I used a 4mm hook. The yarn crocheted together nicely and I’m really happy with the resultant square. The only issue I encountered when crocheting the comforter was when I needed to frog (undo) a portion of my crochet. The yarn seems to latch to itself and I had to be quite firm when pulling my stitches undone; at the time I worried the yarn might snap but it didn’t. The yarn sticking to itself in such a way may actually, in the long run, make it more suitable for it’s purpose. Hopefully, it will resist the rigours of little hands πŸ™‚

The nature of the yarn makes the stitch definition poor. However, you get a wonderfully soft fluffy effect.

20140117_155843

I used, or attempted to use, part of an amigurumi teddy pattern to create a head to attach. This was really difficult and I must admit I considered giving up at one point. As I’ve mentioned, the yarn results in poor stitch definition. I really struggled to see what I was doing. I remedied this by using another strand of dk yarn alongside thus making it a little easier to see the stitches I was working. Persevering was well worth it the finished comforter looks lovely.

Overall, I’m really happy with this Sirdar Snuggly Snowflake Chunky yarn the fluffy effect the yarn has produced is fantastic; and it was very reasonably priced. I shall definitely be using this yarn again but am now prepared for difficulties I may encounter.20140117_155934

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under creations, musings, recommendations

2 responses to “Feeling chunky!

  1. You are a clever chap and I am glad you persevered with the amigurumi teddy head. I am a very experienced amigurumist and I always advise to use this thread method. It is still quite difficult (impossible) sometimes to see where one is but the good thing about amigurumi is that when you finish you can use a yarn needle to correct any unintentional “lopsidedness” and then plump the ami into shape. I just know the baby will LOVE it! πŸ˜€

    • Thank you for your comment, it was the first thing I looked at this morning and put a huge smile on my face πŸ™‚ I’ll post a full picture of the comforter I made tomorrow πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

