The Tunisian Exploration

My Tunisian crochet hooks arrived just after Christmas and thankfully my husband didn’t decide to with hold them till my birthday on the 12th of January.
image

I started looking at written tutorials initially but quickly found a range of tutorials by The Crochet Crowd that I could follow more easily.

At first I used a 3mm hook and ended up with a  tight stitch and fabric that rolled up like a scroll.
image

image

I’ve since learned that this rolling is quite common. Mikey’s tutorials have some tips on how to reduce the amount the fabric rolls up. These include using a hook 3mm larger than you would ordinarily use; after the foundation row crocheting a purl row ,and crocheting a border/edge around the fabric.

My second attempt, with a larger hook, yielded a looser fabric which didn’t roll up quite as much.
image

I’m liking this method of crochet and have learned the standard stitch, Tunisian purl stitch and Tunisian knit stitch.
image

The knit stitch really does create a knitted look.
image

13 Comments

Filed under creations, Learning

13 responses to “The Tunisian Exploration

  1. I struggled with Tunisian crochet but I think my tension was too tight. What do you plan to do with it?

  2. Interesting. As I love both knitting and crochet, I’m not certain that Tunisian crochet is worth bothering with for me, but your work does look lovely.

  3. Interesting. I’ve not tried it yet…. Maybe one day.

  4. Once you get the hang of it its so easy. I whipped up a scarf in no time. I really like the pattern Tunisian Simple Stitch forms. Your play squares look great

  5. I have the same set !! good luck with your Tunisian adventure. Try the honeycomb stitch it does not roll up at all.

  6. Well done! I find a row of sc or dc around the edges helps to stop the roll. As for what to do with sample squares? They literally have a trillion uses! I HAVE to share my post with you so I can show off my rug but also for the shepherd sitting on his stool knitting. It makes me so happy to see the ancient arts taken up by young people and therefore kept alive.
    http://gentlestitches.com/2013/02/25/tunisian-wrap/

Leave a Reply

