A whole new world

One of my Christmas gifts was a yarn winder. I saw Mikey on The Crochet Crowd show how they could be used and I thought then that in the future one could be useful. I liked the idea of having balls of yarn that would definitely pull from the centre and being able to stack them sounded great.

Ball winderThe photo above makes it look like my feline assistants helped… they did not. I was struggling to find a surface I could attach the bracket to. The cat’s activity center/scratching post worked quite well πŸ™‚

The balls produced are smaller and stackable πŸ™‚

SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC

My stash is already looking deceivingly smaller! I’ve only wound up the balls that I’m currently using in projects, when it’s all done I’ll have lots of room for more wool πŸ™‚

6 Comments

Filed under musings, recommendations

6 responses to “A whole new world

  1. I’m jealous: I so want one of those… my sister has one somewhere and has promised it to me when she finds it. She’s moving house soon, so fingers crossed it turns up!

  2. I got a swift for Christmas this year…was thinking about asking for a winder, but they all seem so big…I wasn’t sure if it was worth having another thing I had to store somewhere. Does it work much faster than winding the center pull balls by hand?

  3. Oh, yarn winders are wonderful, aren’t they? I love mine too! And yes, the stash looking smaller is definitely an advantage. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

