Why I love my hair

I’m 33 but look older. This is due, in main, to my hair colour. I have lots of grey/white/platinum hair 🙂

I got my first grey hairs when I was 12. And they really took hold in my late 20s.
Not liking or being ready for all this, I began dyeing it. I say I but this became my husband Jonathan’s reluctant monthly job. However, my roots showed so fast it felt like I was fighting a losing battle.

image

Jon and I at our wedding

Eventually, I decided to cut my medium length very curly hair shorter and embrace the grey. I liked it, and so did everyone else. People said I looked younger. I wasn’t sure I looked younger but I appreciated the change.
image

A couple of months ago my grandad transitioned (died). It was sudden and sad and he is missed by many but he is still here in my heart. Whilst enjoying my memories of him, I realised/remembered that my premature greying comes from my grandad.
image

My grey hair now reminds me of my grandad and is now such a special part of me. When my friend’s and husband start developing those first flecks of noticeable grey it’s highly likely my hair will be completely white…platinum.

I don’t mind this one tiny bit 🙂

image

5 Comments

Filed under musings

5 responses to “Why I love my hair

  1. You look great with your natural colour! I’m blonde so the grey isn’t showing up too much YET!

  2. I agree with The Snail of Happiness!You look great and pretty yourself. Even if I don’t know you personally I like a lot what your photos communicate…a big sense for life,in my opinion… 😀

  3. You are so lucky, you look better with grey hair! I’m 34 and so far have none, but once in a while I spot a blonder hair and go O_O. May the false alarms last many many years lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

