Crochet cat nest

Just before summer, inspired by Pinterest, I crocheted a cat nest/cave/house.

I was terribly excited as it was my first time using t-shirt yarn.
image

I used a free pattern and I think I tweaked it as  mad I e it. It worked together quickly but really made my arms ache (I’ve no muscle to speak of). Crocheting t-shirt yarn requires a more physical approach it would seem.
image

I was quite pleased with the results. However, not one of my four cats have used it. 😦 …. until last week.
image

Fiyero (big ginger) or Oscar (old dog, cat dad) flattened the nest. I moaned and grumbled, until later when I saw NessaRose (shy cat) using it.
image

I’ve reshaped the cat nest into a nicer form and now three of my cats have used it for a snooze 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under creations, musings

3 responses to “Crochet cat nest

  1. I thought about crocheting a nest for Smoky, but he prefers boxes!

  2. That’s cats for you. You can’t force a cat to do anything, can you?

  3. Cindy Soto

    I am trying to make a cat cave using the free pattern u suggest here… I am having a problem however.. it wants to collapse on itself once I start building up past the door. What do u suggest doing? Should I use a smaller crotchet hook? I am currently using a 8mm hook with the tshirt yarn… thank u in advance for any help…

Leave a Reply

