Another string to my bow

The other night, whilst shopping for ingredients for Christmas cakes (plural I’ve made four and have at least one more to go) I discovered a bargain.

image

Some fancy yarn (sashay? Not redheart tho) was sat innocently in a reduced basket. Whilst not certain of the colour I knew that this sort of yarn  was normally quite expensive. It was always something that I had wanted to learn to use. So I grabbed a couple of balls and headed to the tills, pleased with my find.

I looked at a couple of tutorials and learned that this yarn can be used in a number of ways. But what really helped me the most was a crochet crowd video.

image

Quickly, I made a scarf and I’m now onto my second having tweaked the instructions to hopefully make a thicker scarf with more ruffles. I love learning new things; especially when those new skills result  in possible Christmas presents. πŸ™‚

image

Thicker scarf

3 Comments

Filed under creations, Learning

3 responses to “Another string to my bow

  1. Oh well done on your find! And I love the Crochet Crowd Videos – Mikey is so very funny, but talented too. I learned about extreme crochet from his giant granny square, and while I’m still struggling with that particular thing, I have made some nice blankets and cushions thanks to him. πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve made a similar couple if scarves myself, I love crochet with texture, which these fancy yarns provide… And yay for a bargain!

Leave a Reply

