Creativity saves lives

A good few years back I hit a rough patch and sank into depression.  I’m not going to talk about the reasons why, as I’m not about to go back to that place and relive things that I’ve left behind. What I would like to write about is the wonderful transformation that I went through that has led me to where I am today.

Growthgoldleaf

Drawing was something I always wished I could do. My parents are both incredibly creative and both can paint beautifully, I was of the opinion that I hadn’t received those particular genes. I have doodled for years and my doodles did have a sort of artistic quality. However, to me they were just doodles.

On the day I was signed off work I felt really low and I started to draw. I quickly realised that I wasn’t as bad as I thought. In fact I wasn’t bad at all.

I drew this on the night I had been signed off work.

I drew this on the night I had been signed off work.

But more than this I realised that when I was drawing I zoned out of the world around me and got a much needed break from all the feelings and thoughts that I was stuck with. Creating artwork soon became a therapy, an escape. Creating things allowed me to heal. Without finding and fostering that creative ember that smoldered within me I could still be in that sad dark place. 

badger

Creativity is such a big part of who I am now. I’m happiest when I’m making things. Exploring my creativity led me to crochet… and I love crochet.

wpid-20131031_075027.jpg

13 Comments

Filed under creations, musings

13 responses to “Creativity saves lives

  1. I haven’t stopped crocheting since I started a few weeks ago. I am trying african flowers now, going on two. I can’t stop, I feel good while making these things, cannot explain it.
    I guess it’s just because you are creating something you perceive as beautiful, which makes you feel good about yourself, and at the same time you switch off from everything that you really should not focus on.
    Simply knowing that you have this option to immerse yourself in is also something positive, something to look forward to after a day of work.

    • Absolutely!
      I think you attract the things you focus upon… a break from focusing on the negative helps enormously. And to focus on positive things allows more of those elements to flow into your life. 🙂

  2. I agree with this post 100%.
    I started up my blog just over a week ago thinking that I would use it to talk about a personal experience that had left my family and I traumatised beyond belief. Then I found that I just couldn’t talk about it – so I talked about my crochet instead.
    I think it’s because crochet has always kept that little bit of colour and escapism in my life – and because it has been so positive for me, I enjoy sharing it a whole lot more. I really needed to read this post tonight, so thank you for sharing it xx

    • I’m really pleased you like my post and that Crochet brings you such wonderful feelings.
      I think its natural to want to talk about the traumatic and upsetting stuff that we go through… but in doing so you are reliving and re-experiencing those moments. Not sure why we feel the need to do that to ourselves.
      Keep on crocheting, being positive and sharing wonderful things with the world. 🙂

  3. A lovely post, and I agree with you wholeheartedly. Creativity is so important to me, my life is not the same if I’m not creating… and specifically crocheting!

  4. great post!!! for me crochet is therapeutic too, it makes me feel less stressed out 🙂 and your drawings and crochet are excellent!!

  5. you are naturally blessed with talent…even if you discovered that yourself late in life. Creativity can cure many ills ..even physical often. Keep your creative juices flowing..you never know what else you are good at 🙂

  6. Pingback: Neurochemical Confluence | Hand of Ananke

Leave a Reply

