Hyperbolic hooking

SAMSUNG CSC

Yesterday I made this. I have no idea what it is but it was fun just letting it manifest in front of me using hyperbolic crochet principles.

I began with a short  tube of single crochets and  then switched to single crochet increases in each stitch. Waves began to appear much more quickly than before creating a very ruffled effect. The tube was then turned and I worked the other way; experimenting with double crochets in a chain 5 loop, with added Single crochet increases to follow.

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

It was nice not having a pattern and just going with my gut.

I’ve now been challenged by Shana Rae to create a dragon with hyperbolic elements… best get my thinking cap on 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under creations, Hyperbolic crochet

5 responses to “Hyperbolic hooking

  1. Are you going to crochet yourself a thinking cap first?! 😉

  2. I see that Manchester Museum currently have an exhibition about Coral that includes a hyperbolic reef… and they are accepting donations. I really want both to contribute and go, but I’m not sure I have the time.

Leave a Reply

