A Fierce Little Dragon… who’s not fierce at all :-)

 

 

 

53696_10151383875917684_896477282_o

Here’s an amigurumi I made some time back. I’ve only made this once but really liked the pattern ( free and available here) and how some of the parts were crocheted. This fierce Little Dragon (pattern name) can also be found over on Shana Rae’s blog NYAD Designs http://nyaddesigns.wordpress.com/2013/11/04/ongar-the-dragon/.

I love how they body is one shaped piece of crochet; beginning by joining two small circles for the nose. The legs have shape to them and join nicely to the body. The spines are formed using a simple repeating pattern and look really effective- I’ve used these spines on some of the snow dragons I’ve made.

wpid-20130415_154703.jpg

Spines and wings inspired by those on the Fierce Little Dragon

But the wings! These took me a while to grasp and were quite fiddly. This was my first try at frontpost stitches and perhaps the reason why I had so much difficulty. They look great though and I was really pleased. I’ve adapted (shrunk) the wings to fit some of the snow dragons I’ve made.

wpid-20130616_175336.jpg

 

904281_10151383869732684_901359379_o

 

Sadly, this fierce little dragon disappeared shortly after I made him :-(. I took him to work to show off and I think one of the kids I teach accidentally took him home and took a liking to him. Or maybe …. maybe he flew away and is having some fantastic adventures somewhere (I like the thought of that more πŸ™‚ )

Talking about this amigurumi is making me want to make another… watch this space πŸ™‚

13 Comments

Filed under creations, Learning

13 responses to “A Fierce Little Dragon… who’s not fierce at all :-)

  1. Aww! all your dragons are so lovable. You are pretty good with these guys. I like the red one best although I would have liked to see his face πŸ™‚
    As for your I would call ‘friendly little dragon”s disappearance, probably he had to rush to the call of his warlock Merlin πŸ˜‰

  2. Reblogged this on Crochet Adventures! and commented:
    Free pattern! SO cute. πŸ™‚

  3. Shana Rae

    Ongar thanks you kindly for the mention, as do I, I’m feeling an urge to do more dragons now, yours are awesome πŸ™‚

  4. Shana Rae

    I know of one to buy, that’s the only reason I never made it;
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/oriental-dragon

  5. Pingback: Lazy Sunday | The Snail of Happiness

Leave a Reply

